Shiromani Gurudwara Parbandhak Committee

Waheguru Ji Ka Khalsa

Waheguru Ji Ki Fateh

Shiromani Committee published a collection of valuable English articles of Sardar Kapoor Singh.

Bibi Jagir Kaur

Recent News

SGPC distributes scholarship amount of about Rs 65 lakhs to Amritdhari (initiated) students

SGPC committed to connect students with ‘Sikhi’ along with educational expansion - Bibi Jagir Kaur Amritsar, March 31: Shiromani Gurdwara Parbandhak Committee (SGPC) president Bibi Jagir Kaur on Wednesday distributed cheques of about Rs 65 lakhs as scholarships to Amritdhari (initiated) students studying in SGPC run educational institutions. This scholarship amount has been given to the students related to the year 2019-2020 and 2020-2021. Before this, in a special function at Sri Manji Sahib Diwan Hall with regards to these years, scholarships of Rs 1.31 crore were distributed to Amritdhari students on January 30, 2021. It is notable that it has been decided to give scholarships every year to the Amritdhari students studying in the SGPC run schools/colleges. As per the decision taken by the SGPC, scholarship amount under various categories is Rs 3,500 for students of Class VIII to X, Rs 5,000 for Class XI to XII, Rs 8,000 for graduate-level and Rs 10,000 for post-graduation-level. The scholarship recipients today included 546 students from 32 schools and 584 students from 29 colleges. On this occasion SGPC president Bibi Jagir Kaur said, “The SGPC is making great efforts to promote education as well as to connect the students with Sikhi. She said that adherence to the teachings of Gurus and livelihood as per Gurmat is the basic duty of every Sikh. The SGPC is working to make the children getting education sound in dharma.” She said that the purpose of giving scholarships to Amritdhari children is to motivate others to join the path shown by the Gurus. SGPC president appealed to the parents to inspire and motivate their children to engage with “Bani and Bana” – (Gurbani and traditional Sikh attire). On this occasion executive member S. Satwinder Singh Tohra, additional secretary Sukhdev Singh Bhurakohna, S. Sukhminder Singh, deputy secretary Kulwinder Singh Ramdas, S. Simarjeet Singh, S. Balwinder Singh Kahlwan, OSD Dr Amrik Singh, Dr Sukhbir Singh, superintendent Malkit Singh Beharwal, S Azaddeep Singh, pracharak Bibi Harpreet Kaur, Principals including Rajinder Kaur, Gurnam Singh, Dalwinder Kaur, Rajanmol Kaur, Taranjit Singh, Amarjit Kaur, Sarabjit Kaur, Satwant Kaur and others were present.

Website Disclaimer
This website has been developed to provide information to the public for awaring SGPC activities based on the data provided by Sikh Itihas Research Board.
Suggestions are welcome with reference to authentic historical resources and requested to mail at